Autumn Begins

A pearl crescent butterfly (Phyciodes tharos) rests on goldenrod in the slight cool of morning; Florida, USA. Copyright Audrey R. Smith, 2015.

A pearl crescent butterfly (Phyciodes tharos) rests on goldenrod in the slight cool of morning; Florida, USA. Copyright Audrey R. Smith, 2015.

I was out for a quick trip with the camera this morning, and as I approached what I thought was a nice close landscape, I noticed this little brushfoot butterfly resting on some goldenrod.  It was a few degrees cooler this last week than it’s been the last several months, and I guess the little fella was waiting for the sun to dry and warm its wings.  I’m not 100% sure of the ID, but Internet searches seem to indicate a pearl crescent butterfly (Phyciodes tharos), a true brushfoot butterfly.

Leave a comment