My 2014 New Year’s Post in March…

A Great Pyrenees lounges; photo with Oil Painting filter applied. Copyright Audrey R. Smith

A Great Pyrenees lounges; photo with Oil Painting filter applied. Copyright Audrey R. Smith

My New Year’s resolution was to do more with my images in 2014, branch out a bit in my post-processing and Photoshop experimentation, and as an end result increase my online presence.  Of course I have my accounts with WordPress, Facebook, Etsy, and Flickr, and also my CafePress and Zazzle shops, but I don’t utilize them enough for this online world we live in.  Well, fate and machinery have conspired to undo all my good intentions.  The good news is, I uncovered their plot, and am fighting back:

1.       My PC—where I did all my photo editing—finally kicked the bucket, and so did my laptop, which was my backup machine.  Apparently what WAS my PC had a bad motherboard, and the laptop wound up with a virus that caused me to have to wipe it back to factory specs (yes, I had backed up all my images before resetting it).  It is still not operating as it was previously, evidenced by an abject refusal to connect to the Internet.  I have to trek 300 feet to my parents’ house for my online work.  (This is only noteworthy as it prevents me from accomplishing things quickly compared to being in my office or living room.)  The weird thing is, my smartphone also crapped out on me, but it’s four years old and put in some tough time on this earth.  Russ says that I can’t be around technology because I always make it stop working.  To which I hiss back, “That’s why I shot film for so long!”

Gulls in flight against the sky; Copyright Audrey R. Smith.

Gulls in flight against the sky; Copyright Audrey R. Smith.

2.       I got a Monday-to-Friday job, to help with daily expenses.  It’s amazing how much energy you expend doing a job, cleaning house, and taking care of a very active five-year-old.  I’ve been too tired to be creative!  That will change, once I stop falling asleep next to my son when I put him to bed.  In the meantime, creativity is being directed toward looking at what other people have created.

A skydiver floats through the cloudy sky, with a flaring sun behind him. Copyright Audrey R. Smith

A skydiver floats through the cloudy sky, with a flaring sun behind him. Copyright Audrey R. Smith

3.  What I have been able to do is explore different venues closer to home.  There is a skydiving center virtually across the street from me that is very active on Saturday mornings.  Cool parachute shots against the clouds, shooting into the sun to change things up, since it’s a tricky and rather poor lighting situation.  The dog park is nearby, and putting some of these breeds through the Oil Painting filter in PS lends itself to some fun results.  And there are miles of beaches and coastlines just minutes away, so for shots of gulls in flight, we head to the river – which is actually a lagoon, but few call it that.

An Irish wolfhound (or Scottish deerhound, I forget!).  Copyright Audrey R. Smith

An Irish wolfhound (or Scottish deerhound, I forget!). Copyright Audrey R. Smith

 Coming soon: a follow-up review of quality photography magazines.  I’ve come across a few new ones I would like to explore more in-depth!

Leave a Reply

